Going Away

the road

I am going away again

Away from the constant

Hustle and noise –

The incessant bee-hive drone

Of the city

 

Out there past the land of pick-up trucks

And gravel dust

And corn fields waving in the wind

 

Out there deep in the hills

Where a lonely two-lane winds

Through primeval forest

 

Where the streams run cold and clean

And the stars shine bright and clear

 

Where all the notes of Nature’s song

Sing out loud and un-obstructed

 

Out there the whole Earth is like a great drum

Pulsing with life and music

And I am a bead of sweat glistening on its skin

Dancing to the rhythm

 

I’ll find a little lakeshore

Somewhere out there

Somewhere no one ever goes

And by the light of a dying fire

Fall asleep, listening…

 

To the bullfrogs down by the water

To the locusts that are everywhere singing out

From the lush and living green

 

To the ethereal music of the heavenly spheres

Heard not with the ears but with the heart

 

There where the black top ends

My wanderings will have only just begun…

 

For I am going waaaaay out there

Where no path leads

To that mystic space, beyond beyond

 

Where I flow with the rivers

With the life-blood of the pines

Where I whirl with the wind

With the sky, with the moon

 

And I dance on the invisible strings

That weave together stars and planets

 

I’m going away, far away

Where my soul can rest…

 

~ Ben

21 thoughts on “Going Away

    • The cost is nothing but the pain and the bliss of being fully alive and fully human… I wouldn’t have it any other way 🙂

      Much love to you, Lou! Thanks for reading.

  1. I am going Way out there as well this Summer, going away where the stars can be seen as a vast mist of light, where I can hear the hum and tone beneath the thoughts~ Yet this bee will always return to the hive, where he in needed, where he is called Father and Friend~ Sometimes I Am unable to stop the noise and distraction and so seek the “I” of the hurricane~ I rest peacefully there as the illusion spins round this solid center this quiet container, where activity meets stillness and finds its birthplace therein~
    Beautiful piece, Ben~ In~Joy your adventures~ 🙂

    • Yes, I too am called to be father, brother, friend – there are those who need me, to whom I will always return. And yes, one can find peace and stillness even in the midst of the hive and its madness… but sometimes my soul calls out to reconnect to Mother Gaia in a way that just cannot be done in the concrete jungle.

      Thank you for your love, Satprem. May your travels be blessed, my brother!

      • I hear you, Bro~ I am headed down to the mountains of Northern New Mexico, where my Papa has 500 acres of woods, streams and meadows for myself and my kids to play in~ Living in the city, I am Always Blow Away at the Vast amount of stars that I can see when I am down there~ City living is Not for me, but my kids and Grand kids all live here so It is worth it~ Blessings on your journeys as well, dear brother~ 🙂

      • Ah, New Mexico – simply beautiful! I once spent a week camping out in the Santa Fe National Forest, near Cuba… one of the most gorgeous places I have ever been! Enjoy 🙂

  2. I am being called out into the Silence as well. I do not have the skills to do the end of the road thing, but there is a wonderful retreat where I can be in the quiet on a bluff overlooking the mighty Mississippi, and walk in among the trees. August can’t come soon enough for me.

    • Thank you so much for your comments! I’m glad you enjoyed the poem. And I wish you a happy and blessed summer, and a deep and powerful retreat 🙂

      In love and light,

      ~ Ben

      • It is in preparation for a ‘mission’, a gathering that the higher realms have requested that I will be facilitating at Mount Shasta this coming September, so we shall see what words will come up out of the Silence. May your journey bear much spiritual fruit as well. Namaste.

  3. the poem is very graphic and very beautiful ending at the urge to feel the beginning of something real. *likes*

    • Thank you Samadhi, you are too kind 🙂

      I most certainly will be writing about my travels this summer… there will be more poems and prose to come, in which I will share my journeys, my experiences and my insights.

Leave a Reply

