Tathagata

What emptiness was revealed in the Buddha’s silent gestures?

In the way that he smiled, or held up a flower?

 

What voice said unto Moses, “I Am That I Am”?

 

Who was it that spoke through Jesus,

“I am the Way, and the Truth, and the Light”?

 

What mystery is revealed in the desert,

On the brink of starvation and madness,

In the darkest depths of the Soul,

When we finally have the courage

To look our fears in the face –

And die?

 

It is the One beyond all coming and going,

The One beyond all form and speech;

 

It is the radiant reactor core of the sun,

The axis on which the Earth turns,

The calm center of the universe;

 

It is the stillness that precedes our every thought and movement,

The spark of light that gleams in every eye;

 

It is the silence that engulfs my words,

The silence in which this poem comes to rest…

 

Now.

 

~ Ben

16 thoughts on “Tathagata

  1. Ben, do you mind if I feature it on my blog ? Actually, somehow, I don’t think you’ll mind, so I’m putting it up. If you have any objections contact me and I’ll take it off.
    Come and see it at Talesfromthelou.
    Very nice. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Kudos.

  2. and with your spiritual journey, you are creating great works in form of poetries…penning down your wisdom in this form….I just love, how every poem of yours, uplift the soul to seek for inner peace…
    much love….:)

    • Thank you Pawan. Your work too reflects your spiritual journey, and the wisdom of your soul. You are an inspiration, my friend – much love to you!

      ~ Ben

  3. Reading this, in the now, has my heart and soul smiling away, and I’ve got goosebumps! Every post, every poem of yours, is just so beautiful, amazing, inspiring, encourageing, and wrapped in the warmth of truth… I can’t thank you enough for sharing your wisdom through such a creative, flowing, loving medium. So much peace and love!

    • Oh my goodness… what can I say to that?! Your words are too kind – I am humbled. Thank you, Rowena. It is the fulfillment and the completion of my creative process to know that my words have touched your heart, and evoked such feelings – it means more to me than words can say.

      With endless gratitude,

      ~ Ben

  4. Ben , this is absolutely stunning. Relish each part of your poem, your mind, heart. Your pen is beautiful — keep inspiring. Am so blessed to know you, my friend. Stay gold.

  5. So interesting — we were both commenting on each other’s blog at the same time! Mental telepathy or sublime force? Amazing !

Leave a Reply

